If you were involved in a Rhode Island auto accident involving injury or property damage of over $1000 then you must file a report of the RI motor vehicle accident. The auto accident attorneys at Slepkow Slepkow & Associates, Inc. help our clients fill out these RI auto accident reports.
If you were injured in a Rhode Island and Providence Plantations or Massachusetts car accident then it is crucially important that you have a RI personal injury lawyer on your side through every step of the process fighting for your legal rights.
R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-26-6 states “§ 31-26-6 “Drivers required to make written reports. – The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any person or in which the damage to property of any one person, including himself or herself, in excess of one thousand dollars ($1000) is sustained, shall, within twenty-one (21) days after the accident, forward a written report of the accident to the division of motor vehicles, on forms provided by the division of motor vehicles.” http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE31/31-26/31-26-6.HTM”
The Westerly* Rhode Island police have provided this accident report form online here
What types of damages am I entitled to as a result of a RI Auto Accident Accident or Massachusetts car wreck?
You should retain a Rhode Island auto accident attorney or a MA automobile accident lawyer immediately after the automobile collision.
You may be entitled to lost wages, lost earning capacity, damages for pain and suffering as well as reimbursement for medical bills. You may be entitled to compensation for future pain and suffering, property damage and future medical expenses as well as other damages.
Are motorists in Rhode Island legally required to have uninsured and underinsured motorist automobile accident coverage?
No. but the insurance company must provide underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage to its insured in an amount equal to the liability coverage. However, the consumer may reject this coverage but it must be rejected in writing at each renewal. Uninsured motorist coverage is important in the event of a RI hit and run accident or a motorist who let his coverage lapse for nonpayment. Other drivers have suspended licenses or never had a license.
If you were injured in an auto accident in Rhode Island with in uninsured motorist then you need to immediately retain a Rhode island uninsured motorist Auto accident attorney or a Providence underinsured motorist lawyer.
§ 27-7-2.1 Uninsured motorist coverage. – (a) No policy insuring against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for property damage caused by collision, bodily injury, or death suffered by any person arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle shall be delivered or issued for delivery in this state with respect to any motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this state unless coverage is provided in or supplemental to the policy, for bodily injury or death in limits set forth in each policy, but in no instance less than the limits set forth in § 31-31-7 under provisions approved by the insurance commissioner, for the protection of persons insured under the policy who are legally entitled to recover damages from owners or operators of uninsured motor vehicles and hit-and-run motor vehicles because of property damage, bodily injury, sickness, or disease, including death, resulting from that injury, sickness or disease. The insurer shall provide uninsured motorist coverage in an amount equal to the insured’s bodily injury liability limits. The named insured shall have the option of selecting a limit in writing less than the bodily injury liability coverage, but in no event less than the limits set forth in § 31-31-7, unless the named insured is purchasing only the minimum coverage required by compulsory insurance provisions of the general laws, in which case the limit can be reduced to zero, but only after signing an advisory notice approved by the director of business regulation concerning the hazard of uninsured and underinsured motorists. That coverage shall also apply in the case of a responsible party whose liability insurance carrier was insolvent at the time of the accident or became insolvent subsequent to the accident. http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title27/27-7/27-7-2.1.htm
Are Insurance companies in Rhode Island required to provide minimum coverage for medical payments?
Pursuant to Rhode Island Injury law insurance companies must provide no fault medical payment coverage in an amount of $2500 and $5,000 aggregate. However, motorists in Rhode Island may reject the coverage.
“§ 27-7-2.5 Minimum coverage – Medical payments. http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title27/27-7/27-7-2.5.HTM
Will I be provided a rental car by the insurance company after a Providence auto accident?
Your own insurance company will be required to provide you with a rental car while your motor vehicle is being repaired if you purchased rental car coverage from your insurance company. If you do not have rental car coverage then the at fault driver’s insurance company may pay for your rental vehicle. In many instances you will need to wait until you get your injury and accident settlement until you get reimbursed for your rental car expense.
*Westerly, Rhode Island is near Wakefield, Charlestown, Bradford, Ashaway, and Hopkinton Rhode Island. According to Wikipedia, “Westerly is a town on the southwestern shoreline of Washington County, Rhode Island, United States. Founded in 1669 by John Babcock, it is a beachfront community on the south shore of the state. The population was 22,787 at the 2010 census. The town is part of the Norwich–New London, Connecticut, New England city and town area.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westerly,_Rhode_Island
Legal Notice per Rules of Professional Responsibility: The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer / attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice. While this firm maintains joint responsibility, most cases of this type are referred to other attorneys for principle responsibility.